Kansas Aviation Museum

Governor's Aviation Honor

Past Recipient’s:

Dwane L. Wallace

184th Tactical Fighter Group
William H. Wells

Marilyn Copeland
Orville Dickerhoof

Charles H. Blosser
Mary L. Aikens

Eldon W. Cessna

Moya Olsen Lear
William Marvin Helton

190th Air Refueling Wing
Elton H. Rowley

Charles E. Carpenter
Peter T. Reynolds

David D. Blanton
Sr. Jan Roskam, PhD
U.L. “Rip” Gooch

Linda Hall Daschle
George M. Boyd
Max L. Ary

Kenneth W. Barnard
Charles William Seitz
Frank Joseph Rowe
Craig Miner

Daniel L. Meisinger
Ronald G.H. Smith

Ronald D. Ryan
Harold E. Neuman

Joe Conrad Funk
Howard Clark Funk

Dr. A. Porter Davis
Robert S. Hagan
Cletus Pottebaum
William H. Wentz

Steve French
Robin Higham

Donald O’Toole
Milton D. Sills

George Johnson
Charles M. Seibel
Mary VanScyoc

Paul E. “Pete” Illman
Gary M. Adamson

James Greenwood
Robert L. Kanaga
Robert J. “Bob” Waner

Charles E.L. Straub
Dr. Maurice H. Witten

Charles E. Reagan, Ph.D.
Robert "Bob" Armstrong

Arch E. Merriam
Michael Armour


Kansas Governor’s Aviation Honors Award
Kansas Aviation Hall of Fame Award

Click Here For:  Hall Of Fame Recipients  |  Governor's Aviation Honor Recipients

Each year, a selection committee considers individuals to be recognized for selection to either the Kansas Governor’s Aviation Honor Award or the Kansas Aviation Hall of Fame.

Aviation Honor Award
The Kansas Governor’s Aviation Honor Award was created to preserve the memory of outstanding aviation contributions by citizens of the State of Kansas. The intent of this award is to recognize and record for future generations the many individual efforts that have been made in the pioneering, growth and development of aviation and space exploration in Kansas.

Hall of Fame
The Kansas Aviation Hall of Fame was created to preserve the memory of extraordinary citizens of Kansas who have made contributions to aviation of statewide or national significance. Additionally, any Kansan inducted into the National Aviation Hall of Fame will automatically be inducted into the Kansas Aviation Hall of Fame.

The nominee’s service or achievement in aviation may have been accomplished in Kansas, nationally or worldwide and the nominee must either be a native Kansan or have performed significant portions of his aviation-related work while a resident of Kansas.

Nominations may be made by any aviation organization, firm or individual who is knowledgeable about the nominee’s achievements.

Hall of Fame administrators will publicize the awards, invite nominations and provide the necessary forms.

Nomination Format
1. Nominations must describe the candidate’s achievements, typewritten, double-spaced on three (3) pages or fewer, and attached to the nomination form.
2. Nominations must be received by Hall of Fame administrators not later than July 1st each year, at the following address:
Kansas Aviation Museum
3350 S. George Washington Blvd.
Wichita, KS 67210
3. Hall of Fame administrators will present only nominations that are in compliance with official nomination guidelines to the selection committee for its consideration.
4. Nominations will be considered only for the year that they are submitted.

Selection Process
1. The selection committee will consist of at least six persons. Hall of Fame administrators will invite individuals from various aviation organizations to serve on the selection committee. Such organizations may include but are not restricted to the Kansas Aviation Museum, the Kansas Aviation Advisory Committee, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Kansas Commission on Aerospace Education.
2. Total number of award recipients will not exceed three (3) per year.
3. The president of the Kansas Aviation Museum will chair the selection committee as a non-voting member.
4. Selection requires a simple majority of votes from voting members present. A tie vote results in non-selection due to failure to attain a simple majority.

Download printable nomination form (pdf)

If you have any questions regarding these guidelines, please contact:
Lon Smith
Kansas Aviation Museum
3350 S. George Washington Blvd.
Wichita, KS 67210

Tel: 316-683-9242
Fax: 316-683-0573
Email: Email: lonsmith@kansasaviationmuseum.org


3350 South George Washington Blvd., Wichita, KS 67210 P 316.683.9242 F 316.683.0573
The Kansas Aviation Museum is an IRS 501(c)3 non-profit corporation. © Kansas Aviation Museum in Wichita, Kansas, USA